It begins…

Most Jewish hostesses’ years revolve around the holiday of Passover.  Their cooking, cleaning, and recipe compilation is all done with that festival lurking in the back of their minds.  Mine revolves around an event on the other side of the calendar:  Sukkot, also known as the Feast of the Tabernacles.  “Why,” you ask?  Read on.

The Quest:

In just under eight weeks from now, I’m going to be throwing six festive meals, for approximately 20 people at each meal, over the course of three days, with about ten dishes at each meal, with virtually no repetition of dishes.  And I will be cooking everything, except dessert.

Again.

Yes, I am insane.  But I prefer to think of my ambitions as quixotic, perhaps (hence my name).

I’ll be updating this blog throughout my adventures in preparing for the holiday, in an effort to keep myself on track for what will hopefully be a fun, chaotic weekend, full of family and good food.  That last part, of course, hinges on me keeping my act together and staying on schedule.

I have pantries and freezer contents to inventory and clear out; recipes to consolidate; menus to finalize; cooking schedules to assemble, and shopping lists to write.  And that’s just over the next two weeks, before the cooking actually starts.

Hopefully you’ll stick around and see whether it all comes together… and whether I am still able to think straight by the end. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eilonwy
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 19:45:05

    Confession: Reading this is the FIRST thing I did upon getting home from work! I’m excited to watch this all happen. You’re far more ambitious than I am: I do a couple holiday dinners a year, max, under carefully controlled conditions that involve pizza the night before.

    Reply

  2. The Quixotic Cook
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 23:55:49

    Thank you! But I have to confess that for the next few weeks, I’ll likely be saving a lot of my energy for cooking for the holiday, and pizza is going to figure at dinnertime more prominently that I’d normally care to admit. (Or pasta and fish sticks, which feature two of the major food groups according to my 4-year-old.)

    Reply

  3. juniemarie58
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 18:16:30

    Let the drooling commence!
    Can’t wait to see everything you’re cooking! Are you going to post photos?

    Reply

  4. The Quixotic Cook
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 19:35:43

    Thank you, Junie. Yup, photos will be posted once there are things to take pictures of. Not sure yet if I will be taking pictures of things in progress (that could get tricky with, say, poultry) but certainly when they’re done, before they’re stashed in cold storage.

    Reply

  5. kathie
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 20:44:10

    Last year ended up being so successful, can’t wait to see what you do this time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

