Menu #4: Friday Lunch

Soup Strawberry-watermelon gazpacho
Salad 1 Terra chip salad
Salad 2 Cut vegetables with dip
Entree 1 Salmon two ways (lemon pepper/garlic and honey teriyaki)
Entree 2 Tuna potato scallop
Entree 3 Deli platter
Side 1 Pasta with sun-dried tomatoes
Side 2 Curried rice with raisins and almonds
Side 3 Apple-cranberry crisp
Side 4 Green beans with garlic and mushrooms

After such heavy fare, this meal is meant to be much lighter. We’re going with mostly fish for the entrees; there’s a deli platter since my husband and I don’t do dairy meals for a festival meal, so there’s meat available for those who want it; but there are no kugels either, and most of the food is on the lighter side in general.

The Terra Chip salad comes from a cookbook by Susie Fishbein (I’ve forgotten which one, as she’s written several); it’s mostly greens and some peppers tossed with a a yummy ketchup-and-onion-based dressing, with Terra Chips thrown in for crunch and color. It looks pretty and is rather popular among my guests.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Incipit
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 14:21:34

    Just went back to catch up on Thursday night – I think if I were one of the guests, I would skip breakfast every day, to have room for all these tasty choices!

    I love salmon, never tried it with honey teriyaki – a dressing you make?

    Reply

  2. The Quixotic Cook
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 16:19:59

    Heh. Re: skipping breakfast, I think many often do. I never bothered to ask. Maybe I should?

    The honey teriyaki is as simple as pouring honey and teriyaki sauce over a salmon fillet. The sugar from both caramelizes into a nice brown glaze and the saltiness from the teriyaki sauce works really well with the salmon. It’s one of my favorite ways to cook salmon, actually. Technically I could actually mix the two ingredients together first before I pour them on but I’m absurdly lazy… and it seems to taste good regardless of how I do it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

