Potatoes that are sweet

Thankfully, I got everything done last week that needed to be done. The dark meat, de-boned chicken for the Sweet and Sour Chicken finally defrosted, so I added another two pans to the freezer for that dish:

Sweet and Sour Chicken

I also made a meat sauce for the spaghetti:

Meat Sauce

And then it was time for the sweet potatoes.  First, the pies:

Sweet Potato Pie

Then the soup:

Sweet Potato Soup

The best part about making this soup? I get to lick the pot clean after I pour the soup into a container to be frozen.  🙂 And I remembered to take out the bay leaf! This soup gets blended after it’s cooked — I use an immersion blender — and I have been known, in the past, to mince up the bay leaf in it accidentally.  However, I now know that: 1. If I mince up the bay leaf thoroughly enough, no one will notice, and 2. Even if it is noticeable, the soup is so good that no one will care. (And I know this because in spite of a minced bay leaf, I once had a guest ask for seconds and thirds, so I know it’s not just me!) Fortunately, the issue is moot, as the bay leaf was discarded before blending.

Finally, I also made a couple of squash kugels:

Squash Kugel

This, along with the sweet potato recipes, have also managed to use up most of my container of soymilk. That leaves me two cups that I will be using early this week to make the mashed potato pies and the mini broccoli-salami quiches. Also this week, I’ll be making the deli roll surprise, split pea soup, and the ribs, which have been taking up significant freezer space that is now in serious demand.  Normally I’d also make the potato kugels this week, but the last time I made some and froze it, several months ago, it didn’t go over very well, and I don’t want to chance it now. So I may just make that fresh shortly before the holiday.

So that’s one week down, and four and a half to go!

Leave a Reply

